top of page
  • C8

"All the Light We Cannot See" was so good I wrote a college essay about it!// Review

Updated: Feb 29, 2020

Hey Rad Readers,


So, quite the lengthy title, yes. To sum it up, one of my supplemental essay questions asked me to write about a book I would recommend to an admissions officer. The maximum length I was allowed to write was 250 words, so excuse my brevity. There is much more I could write about this book but ya girl is BUSY! So, enjoy my plea to an admissions officer of why they (and you) should read All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doer.


One of the most highly rated reviews I've given a book in these past couple of months has been for All the Light We Cannot See. From its practically poetic writing style and all absorbing plot, it's a mesmerizing read! The story takes you through the eyes of a French girl who goes blind in the midst of World War II. Eventually she and her dad have to flee from the Nazi invasion and, as can be inferred, the suffering they undergo is unparalleled. The other point of view is from a German boy who because of his proclivity for technology is recruited for a Nazi training school. He also goes through hauntingly dark times and eventually their two paths meet. However, what's unique about this story is how all of the tragedy, all the inconceivable pain is not spoken in an extremely somber tone. The characters simply endure. They are going through hardships but they are not wallowing sadness, they are just dealing with it. The most overpowering theme is the message that we have the power to create light in the darkest times, a practice I've always tried to implement in my life. I would recommend specifically this book to others because in todays world mental health issues have been highlighted now more than ever. A potential step in the right direction would be to simply look for the lighter moments even if it is not easily apparent, even if they are tough to see.


Thanks for reading my college essay haha,

- C8 :)

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All the Bright Places// Book Review

Hello Rad Readers! All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven has quickly and doubtlessly made its way onto my 'favorites' shelf. It is absolutely brilliant, and seriously impactful. Theodore Finch is no

A Court of Thorns and Roses// Series Review

Hello Rad Readers! This will be a review on all three books in the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Mass. These books are: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin

bottom of page