top of page
  • C8

C8's Takes: Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hello Rad Readers,


I decided to summarize the series in a shorter post, mainly because though I did enjoy the book, there just wasn't much that happened. It is just such a character driven series, so it is tough to write a lot about it. There just isn't much to analyze. Though, I will say, as with Crescendo and Silence, there was certainly more of an effort to have actual action going on, as apposed to just following the cast around. Not that I had a problem with following the cast around, because as I said, these characters are so great. They are so flushed out and entertaining. My favorite book in this series was actually the first one, even though there was extremely little action... which is... odd..? Usually I have a huge problem with books lacking in plot, but not this time around!


This series is fantastic, though it was victim to tons of criticism. It was clever, funny, and ultimately entertaining. It was not seriously thought provoking or grandly written, but like I said, that is not what drew us into the series. That is not why anyone picked it up. We wanted to read a funky fantasy story, so if you picked this up expecting to get Jane Austin, then that one is on you!


I thought the ending was perfect, though a little rushed. I also felt like they were really cooking it hot with this whole Nora leading an army thing. That certainly seemed a bit dramatic considering that she literally couldn't care less about all the stuff in the first three books. Like I said, this is certainly a character driven story, but the plot absolutely improved and developed from where we started in the first book. No disrespect at all to book one, but now there is just a lot more that is understandable, and that our main character can follow. Now that Nora is fully aware of everything going on, now that she knows all of the secrets, the bad guys, and the good guys, she is much more likable. I will not apologize for taking issue to a character that only knows how to feel sorry for herself and ask dumb questions. Home girl finally learned how to draw a conclusion and not metaphorically walk blindly into dark ally ways, if you get what I'm saying.


Let's talk about Patch. If we are being straight up, Patch CARRIED this series. He was a stellar character, fantastically written, and captivating. So, his lack of appearance in certain parts of the book --sorry to be so vague, just trying to avoid spoilers-- was a bit bothersome. The story simply is not able to really stand without him. Or at least, it is not able to be of the same quality without him. He is what drew a lot of readers, including myself, in, so without him things kind of felt slow for a bit. He is simply much more interesting than Nora, and just an interesting character in general. No comparisons needed. There is a lot that we don't know about him, so every time he appeared in the story there is so much suspense in the air! That was my only major issue with this book, not enough Patch!


All in all, I thought this was a great 'finale' (hahah get it) to a great series. I know that this opinion is not shared by many, but I also do not care. A fun book is a fun book! Read The Great Gatsby if you think you are so much better than us fantasy readers!


Stay rad my fellow readers,


-C8 ;)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All the Bright Places// Book Review

Hello Rad Readers! All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven has quickly and doubtlessly made its way onto my 'favorites' shelf. It is absolutely brilliant, and seriously impactful. Theodore Finch is no

A Court of Thorns and Roses// Series Review

Hello Rad Readers! This will be a review on all three books in the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Mass. These books are: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin

bottom of page