top of page
  • C8

City of Lost Souls// Book Talk

Rad Readers!


Oh the plot thickens!!!!!!


So here we are everyone, we are on the fifth book of The Mortal Instruments series, and I am not ready for it to end yet. Who knows what is going to happen in City of Heavenly Fire!?!? After what happened in this book, there is no use in making predictions anyways because of the sheer insanity that is the Shadowhunter Chronicles!


I honestly don't think there is anything I can say about this book without spoiling it. I loved it, there were some parts that felt pretty repetitive. I understand why some people are saying that this one felt slower than the rest, but honestly I liked this book more than the last. It is probably my second favorite in the series thus far. But, like I said, I understand where the criticism is coming from. A lot of it just seems like they are running from the same old same old, or the conflicts are just repeating themselves over and over again. Nonetheless, I felt like that was only really an issue in the beginning portion. I would say 25% of it was slow and the other 75% was fantastic!


I, like many others, love this series not only for the totally wicked plot, but the great characters as well. Cassandra Clare certainly delivered in that respect. Perhaps a reason for it feeling more slow in the beginning would be because it had a whole lot more to do with characters and relationships than the plot and the action. Of course however, you will hear no complaint from me about that. I believe I have said this before, but Cassandra Clare could write a book about these characters going grocery shopping and I would probably still read it, and knowing Cassandra Clare's writing, I would probably still give it 5/5 stars... I am so weak...


Just like the rest, this book was interesting, entertaining, packed with tons of action as well as humor, and obviously, left me wanting more! Oh how I cannot wait to read City of Heavenly Fire!!!


That is about all I can say without spoiling things, so if you have not caught yourself up on the Mortal Instruments up until this point GO DO THAT! Spoilers ahead!


I feel SO BAD for Simon. The poor dude didn't ask for any of this, and to start off the book with Simon basically being banished from his home, and his mother being absolutely horrified of him totally shattered my heart. I remember back in book 2 when he began worrying about this, and to know now that it all went wrong just totally destroyed me. At least he found some comfort in his sister's trust in him at the end, but still it just hurt me in my heart.


Leave it to Clary to make the worst plan of all time and try to make a deal with the Seelie Queen. I mean comeeee onnnn! That is another lesson we learned from book 2! Those dudes are like the masters of trickery. I knew from the jump that this was going to lead her to failsville, if you will. I do love the Seelie Court and how clever they are. Cassandra Clare writes them so well, so those were actually some of my favorite parts of the book. They are just so cunning and fantastical!


So, Clary goes to do the Seelie Queens dirty jobs and I already knew that this was bad news because she's the freaking Seelie Queen, she doesn't need a newbie Shadowhunter to do her business she can do literally anything she wants. She rolls up to the institute. Surprise surprise, Sebastian and Jace are there. I was fully expecting Clary to do something stupid and was very relieved when she did not. Character development if I do say so myself.


Alec still sucks. I don't understand what his deal with Magnus is. Homie needs to learn how to live and let live. Magnus is legitimately like 1,000 years old so if Alec is seriously going to get upset about everything that has happened in his past then he is going to have A LOT to get upset about. I have never really liked Alec that much, but I am not even being biased here when I say that the dude needs to take a chill pill. Magnus is still an absolute king, so no dissing on him will be tolerated on this book blog!!!


So Camille... that conniving, psychotic, vampire... tells Alec that though there isn't a way to make him immortal, there is a way to take away Magnus' immortality... UHHHHH IN WHAT WORLD DOES THAT SEEM LIKE A GOOD IDEA?? In what universe does Alec think that he should do anything of the sort without Magnus' say? Oh, how I screamed at my book as I read this. What is wrong with Shadowhunters having horrible motivations and even worse communication skills.


The Jace that is actually Sebastian-- but not really Sebastian-- but... like? Connected to Sebastian I guess you could say? Perhaps possessed would be a good way to put it..? Anyways, I digress, that Jace is capital E Entertaining! I really liked those parts a lot because I just thought that it was such a clever way to take the story. Sebastian is so evil and Clary knows that but there is no way for her to get Jace away from him now that they are connected. I didn't even know what to think it was just so crazy. With a dynamic like that you just had no clue what was going to happen next because you want Clary to absolutely annihilate Sebastian, but you also can't want that because if she does that then it's a big old RIP to Jace since they are connected now. Oh, the complications of Cassandra Clare's genius!


Jocelyn? Don't like her. That's the beef.

Isabel? She's dope. As always. No beef.


There was a lot of attempts to humanize Sebastian and I just was not into that at all. He is like the definition of evil and messed up so I didn't really enjoy the justification of said messed up-ness. There would be a part where it is talking about how sad Sebastian's upbringing was and how he has just been lonely his whole life, but then I'm like... wait a second... homie SHOULD be lonely because when he is not alone he is literally terrorizing the people that he surrounds himself with.


Simon saves the day and I couldn't have been happier about it.

Clary pulls the ultimate prank on Sebastian and the delivery was so savage, bravo.

Poor Jace literally has heavenly fire burning inside of his body.

I don't even know what to think anymore.

I don't even know what to say anymore.


Simon is the GOAT,


- C8 ;)

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page