top of page
  • C8

The Darkest Minds// Book Review!

What's happening Rad Readers!


I have to say, I wasn't totally invested in this book for the first couple hundred pages, but when things started picking up I was absolutely and totally hooked! A good quarantine read as well because... ya know... plagues and such are featured. As I have said before it is oh so concerning when dystopias are far too seeming like the reality we live in (and that's on 'The Handmaid's Tale').


When Ruby turned 10, though she had survived the plague that had killed all of her friends, she was taken away to a brutal government rehabilitation center and she had absolutely no idea why. It turns out that though the plague didn't kill her, it triggered something in her brain that was "dangerous." Something about her changed. Six years later Ruby is still in that center surrounded by other survivors, like her, all with strange and frightening abilities they cannot control. Ruby has kept hers hidden, but she knows the truth is about to come out. She escapes and is on the run, finding a band of other escapees on her journey. They are looking for East River, a notorious safe house for kids like her that have gotten out. Ruby is hesitant to follow this group, or even search for East River because with her abilities totally out of her control she is a danger to nearly everyone she is around. In a fight between the government and herself Ruby is forced to make a terrible choice, one that could mean giving up her chance at surviving any life worth living.


The story concept is completely unique. I have not read anything like this really, but I'd say the closest comparison could be like a better version of 'The Maze Runner.' The characters are absolutely lovable and so wonderfully developed, the relationships between them all are developed fantastically as well. They are so vivid, as is the world that Alexandra Bracken has built.


Well, like I said, it takes a while for this story to get going, but when it does you don't want it to ever end. I can't say much without spoiling it, but I would say that it is definitely worth the read. It is nothing super special, but it is definitely great! I gave it 4/5 stars on GoodReads!


SPOILERS AHOE!


Ruby... bothersome at first. That is primarily what took away one star from my review. The other problem I had was the fact that a lot of the beginning --after the world was all established and the escape happened-- was essentially a moderately intense road trip. Obviously that came and went and when they FINALLY found East River THINGS. GOT. CRAZY!


Anyways, back to Ruby, I just hate weak and whiney main characters with a self righteous "I'm a danger to everyone" vibe. Like dude, people are trying to help you and they wouldn't if they didn't want to. It's not that hard to just say thanks and accept help when you are a fugitive and on the brink of death... and so are they... Ruby did have some great character development though. She was certainly less weak and less of a push over as the story went on. In the beginning she couldn't stand up for herself at all and it was genuinely painful to read because I personally just hate characters like that. She's still a little too needs-to-be-the-hero and everything-is-my-fault for my liking, but hey, what can ya do? I hated how she criticized Liam for being like that, but I was like girl... practice what you preach, take a look in the mirror.


I loved Chubs, he was my favorite character in this story, easily. He was right to be weary of everything and even though he kind of sounded like a jerk while doing it, he was totally right. I liked how we got to see him and Ruby become friends, because even in Ruby's case, it was fair to be skeptical of a girl that you found in the middle of the woods, and then in your car, running from the government. He was also a great comic relief and the only one with common sense in the gang.


I liked the uniqueness of the story. No vampires or werewolves... well, so far. I don't want to speak too soon. I have been wronged by too many of these YA series in my lifetime to believe that we are well and truly safe... Anyways, I liked how all the concepts were new. Their powers that were being introduced, and the idea of greens and yellows and oranges being different levels of power and ability was a very interesting and completely original idea to center a story around, and I have a great deal of respect for that!


CLANCY! UGHHHHHHH!!!!!! GAHHHHHHH!!!!!! I have never hated an antagonist more than I have hated Clancy. I would rather face Voldemort than Clancy. He is just so creepy. Even before we were absolutely positive that he was a bad guy... Rad Readers... I just knewwww he was wack. Major props to the author for writing him in such an eerie and off way, because I just had such a strong picture of him in my mind, and I hated that picture.


I hated how smart Clancy was and how stupid Ruby was being in comparison. She had a bad gut feeling and then she was like "there's a voice in the back of my head telling me to trust him." YA, DOG! THAT'S HIS VOICE! ARE YOU FORGETTING HE CAN CONTROL PEOPLE'S MINDS!? Ruby was an absolute moron to let him in her mind. I know he was acting like a good guy at first, but she said that she had weird vibes about him, and I don't even care if you have good vibes about someone. If you have known them for less than, what? 3 days? Here's a general rule to follow, don't let them use their powers to sift through and manipulate your mind! Incase you ever need that type of advice in the future, here it is! If you meet someone with a dangerous amount of power that somehow has the love and backing of an entire population, and this person also just so happens to have the ability of... ya know, just mind control... probably a red flag.


I must say, the ending had me in pieces. The stupid stupid stupid letter. My mind was blown. I can't believe they never thought to look inside. This was genuinely never expected. When I read the part where the dad came out and shot Chubs, I just sat back and had to take a breather because I needed time to comprehend what madness was happening. To say I was hurt would be an understatement. If Chubs is dead then I will never be okay again. That is no exaggeration. You cannot just kill off my favorite character in the FIRST BOOK! I can't believe she just ended it like that without telling us what happened to Chubs... so rude, so wrong.


Ruby pressing the panic button? In my opinion, not the right decision. Chubs was shot in the chest and even though I hope with all my heart that he isn't dead, the likely hood of survival was slim to none, and even if he did live, at what cost? He would become what he was trying to get away from all over again, except instead of with the government it would be with the League, and honestly, I'm not sure which is worse. They all would be stuck. Probably not the right move on Ruby's part.


That isn't even the half of it though, when it comes to the ending. Liam...


HOW COULD SHE DO THIS TO US! HOW! WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO NOW!?


When Ruby erased Liam's mind I was like... It is truly over for us now. She hit us with the "I'm going to finish the story," line, and ladies and gentlemen, that just about ruined me. She is about to just be a pawn in someone else's game. She is the martyr and it's probably going to be for no reason in the end because Chubs is gone, she is gone, and if Liam doesn't have his friends, he made it pretty clear in the beginning, that he would have trouble finding a reason to keep fighting the power. WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO!!!!!! UGHHHH AHHHH!! I'M NERVOUS!


It was just so crazy to me how they were always able to get themselves out of these massive battles and escape the most insane circumstances, but it was the little mistakes that came back and ruined them. That is what made it such a great and crazy story, in my opinion. You thought you knew what was going to happen next, and the BAM.


Okay, Rad Readers... that is all. I have no predictions going into the next book because everything that I though I knew was shattered in the last 15 pages.


I'm nervous,


- C8 ;)


P.S. I just remembered that Clancy isn't dead... oh no...

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All the Bright Places// Book Review

Hello Rad Readers! All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven has quickly and doubtlessly made its way onto my 'favorites' shelf. It is absolutely brilliant, and seriously impactful. Theodore Finch is no

A Court of Thorns and Roses// Series Review

Hello Rad Readers! This will be a review on all three books in the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Mass. These books are: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin

bottom of page