top of page
  • C8

Book Blogger Tag!

How's it hangin fellow literature lovers? Enjoy my hot take on these bookish questions! ;)


1. What are your top three book pet peeves?

- Dog earring pages!! I will seriously do anything to avoid dog earring a page. It is like bookish vandalism. I have a note in my phone with just a bunch of random numbers that are all page numbers because if I can't find a book mark than that is just what must be done. One time I put a piece of grass in there before I went to soccer practice and my page got stained with grass! I frequently put granola bar wrappers in place as well, especially the RX bars. They are great granola bars and even better book marks!! I will consider starting a petition to get all books to have a built in book mark. However, I fear that there are larger problems in the world we must solve first... I'll just add it to the to do list for now.

- Hard covers... Unpopular opinion, I know, but I just find that paper backs are so much better for an innumerable amount of reasons. They are wayyyyy more portable. Carrying a hardcover is like carrying a brick, they make my backpack 30x heavier, and I'm scared that the dust cover will rip. I'm always so confused as what to do about the dust cover as well, like, it is so annoying to read with it on, but when I take off the dust cover the actual book cover is just so boring. It's either just a regular black or white or a block of color and my inner yearbook editor is screaming at the boring and disengaging design. Horrid. Don't misunderstand me, I am not a breaker of paperback spines, but with paper backs, you can bend the book easier, it is more comfortable to read. With hard covers, you are stuck.

- This one is kind of just a me problem, and a little complicated, but when I start a series before all of the books in that series are out, that really drives me crazy. I just finished Defy Me, the fifth book in the Shatter Me series, and I thought that it was the last book, turns out it's not! Now I am in the midst of a massive cliff hanger and I will probably have to wait two years to find out what happens next! I am currently reading The Reckoning of Noah Shaw and I don't even want to finish it because I know I will have to wait so long for the final book to come out. It hurts me, the wait is agonizing, truly.


2. Describe your perfect reading spot.

I live near a lot of nature trails and lakes, so I usually bike ride to a bench in front of a lake and read there. I also LOVE reading in my school library after practice. It is usually empty by the time practice is over and there a lot of windows in the library too, so it's like I'm in a tree house! It's one of my favorite places in the world!


3. When was the last time you cried because of a book?

Uhm... two days ago... I cry a lot, okay. This is honestly just poor timing at answering this question. The only other time I've cried reading a book was at the end of City of Heavenly Fire, but two days ago I finished The Book Thief and that ending just absolutely annihilated me, ripped my heart out and just threw it in a volcano.


4. How many books are you reading right now?

Four.

I have a problem.

I recognize that.

I'm reading The Reckoning of Noah Shaw, The Hate U Give, Pride and Prejudice, and Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters. I started reading The Reckoning of Noah Shaw a little while ago and it started getting a little boring, not very boring, just that part in every book where it is building up to the action and the characters are doing all the investigative stuff and it just never really has interested me, so I started reading The Hate U Give along with it. I've been meaning to read more classics because I have had to read a few for my AP Lit class and I have disliked seriously all of them, so I am on a quest to figure out if I find all classics boring, or just the ones that I have to read for school, so I started Pride and Prejedice. A personal experiment if you will. And finally, I am reading Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters because I helped tutor this kid and he needed help with an English assignment he was doing on Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. I got all nostalgic rereading it and ultimately decided I would be rereading the entire series.


5. What is your favorite snack while reading?

Once again, unpopular opinion, but I don't like to eat while I read. I fear getting my book stained and I don't like having things going on around me while I'm reading because I get distracted EXTREMELY easily. The only thing I do when I am reading is drink coffee or tea or lemon water. Slight digression but iced lemon water is straight heat.


6. Name three book you would recommend to everybody.

- All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

- The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling. (I am saying the last book because to read the last book you have to read the entire series and I think everyone in the world should read the entire Harry Potter series. The world would be a better place.)


7. What book or series got you into reading?

The first book series that I remember being seriously in love with was On The Run by Gordon Korman. That was in elementary school. After that, obviously, Harry Potter. I have always loved reading, but what got me into marathoning books and really kicking my reading into high gear in middle school and high school was the Divergent series and The Selection Series. Divergent is what got me really into the bookish community as well, when I started watching BookTube videos, and when I made my GoodReads account!


8. What are your favorite blog posts to write?

Well, honestly, I like everything! I love talking about books! I think my "sweet song of the month" segment is the most fun because I like picking one each month and it also the easiest to write because it is basically six words lol! I spend HOURS writing my other posts so each time I do a SSOTM it is refreshingly easy. But, I must say, I do like it all!


Okay reader dudes, I hope you all had a stellar Thanksgiving. Read on. We only have a few more weeks until the GoodReads 2019 challenge is over so read as many books as you can! My goal is 52 books this year, and right now I am at 48. I am one book ahead of schedule but I'm still getting worried!! Ahhh!!


- C8 ;)

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All the Bright Places// Book Review

Hello Rad Readers! All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven has quickly and doubtlessly made its way onto my 'favorites' shelf. It is absolutely brilliant, and seriously impactful. Theodore Finch is no

C8's Takes: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Tucholke

Hello Rad Readers! Let me tell you about this ABSOLUTE KILLER novel. I mean, talk about a RAD read! I liked this book so much, I read it one day. Yes, rad readers, you heard that right. 300 pages knoc

A Court of Thorns and Roses// Series Review

Hello Rad Readers! This will be a review on all three books in the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Mass. These books are: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin

bottom of page