top of page
  • C8

C8's Takes: Ink by Alice Broadway

1/5 stars on GoodReads. This one really wasn't my cup of tea.


In Leora's world, every one of your accomplishments and in some cases failures are tattooed on her skin. There are tattoos of honor and shame, to let the people around you know weather you are admirable or traitorous. Your entire life history can be read on your skin. There are no secrets. When Leora's father dies, she learns that he had a hidden mark, one that symbolized the worst crime. She now wants to look beyond the surface of his skin, and find out what happened and what is to come of this mark.


The dialogue and characters were forced and unnatural. The plot just wasn't exciting at all, and is a twist even considered a twist if it was abundantly obvious throughout the entire book. The first "big twist," I predicted in probably the first 30 pages, and the "biggest twist," I predicted in the first 50 pages. This is not to my credit, it is due to the fact that the writing was on the walls. I found myself saying to the main character, girl, how have you not realized this already.


I took one note throughout the entire time I spent reading it (which was a long time, since the pace was that of a snail... 300-ish pages felt like a lifetime of reading) and this is what I'd said.

"I'm 50% through the book and nothing of great importance has been discovered that the main character didn't already really know about. This book is all over the place!"


Well, now having been through 100% of the book, what I said then still stands. The main conflict revolved around something our main character already knew, but was just ignoring. How can there be a big problem or a big mystery when there was an answer and resolution from the beginning. It's not even like the answer was questionable. It was pretty straight forward from the jump, not even a tough pill to swallow considering-- well she already knew, and there really wasn't anything to search for, figure out, or solve. That is probably why it felt so slow. They were kind of just looking for nothing the whole time.


The character development was nonexistent. The best friend is introduced in a way that makes you think Leora actually hates her and then she doesn't which is confusing, and then (this isn't a spoiler by the way even though it might sound like one) she says that she is in love with someone who I swear was only mentioned for 20 pages. Okay, 30 at most.


I read this book less than a week ago and I can barely remember the characters names. I have been genuinely looking back for references as I'm writing this post. I think that says enough in it of itself. Any book that I have ever liked before... I have never forgotten the names of those characters... And that's a hot take for ya right there.


Here at Rad Reads, we love to hit 'em with that fire quote, “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” -- Oscar Wilde


Not to be harsh, but in my opinion there is no use in reading this at all.


- C8 ;)


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All the Bright Places// Book Review

Hello Rad Readers! All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven has quickly and doubtlessly made its way onto my 'favorites' shelf. It is absolutely brilliant, and seriously impactful. Theodore Finch is no

C8's Takes: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Tucholke

Hello Rad Readers! Let me tell you about this ABSOLUTE KILLER novel. I mean, talk about a RAD read! I liked this book so much, I read it one day. Yes, rad readers, you heard that right. 300 pages knoc

A Court of Thorns and Roses// Series Review

Hello Rad Readers! This will be a review on all three books in the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Mass. These books are: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin

bottom of page