top of page
  • C8

C8's Takes: The Bane Chronicles

Pretty great at parts, pretty slow at others.


'The Bane Chronicles' are a collection of novellas from one of the side characters of (mainly) The Mortal Instruments series, Magnus Bane. He's pretty funny and has quite the back story. I am less impressed with the story itself than I am with the depth and understanding that Cassandra Clare has with her characters. Genuinely extremely impressive that she is able to write 400 pages on a side character.


I definitely understand why they are novellas because a lot of them just weren't very exciting and it was obvious why they didn't make the cut for any of the main books. That is why I say some parts were really slow. I definitely wouldn't say that it is required reading to understand the Shadowhunter Chronicles.


I really enjoyed that novellas where we got to learn more about characters we'd already met before, like Tessa and Will. I thought the part with Clary was pretty dope as well, and obviously the stories from France were dope. I like how she incorporated a little spin on historical fiction. It was very funny!


All in all, I am very indifferent. I skimmed a lot because at a certain point I just stopped caring about where this man's life was going. The ending really confused me, but that might have just been because I wasn't really in it to win it, ya know? I gave 3/5 stars on GoodReads because, like I said, it had its moments and those moments were great, but the rest were unimpressive. I did enjoy the book as a whole though, and of course it was very VERY well written, but we knew that was going to be the case with any of this author's works!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All the Bright Places// Book Review

Hello Rad Readers! All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven has quickly and doubtlessly made its way onto my 'favorites' shelf. It is absolutely brilliant, and seriously impactful. Theodore Finch is no

C8's Takes: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Tucholke

Hello Rad Readers! Let me tell you about this ABSOLUTE KILLER novel. I mean, talk about a RAD read! I liked this book so much, I read it one day. Yes, rad readers, you heard that right. 300 pages knoc

A Court of Thorns and Roses// Series Review

Hello Rad Readers! This will be a review on all three books in the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Mass. These books are: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin

bottom of page