top of page
  • C8

Reading Update: Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Mass

Hello Rad Readers,


After reading 300 pages of Empire of Storms without taking a moments break, I was left on the most devastating, horrifying, enticing, and insane cliff hanger of the century. Sarah J. Mass... look what you have done to me. I was a wreck. Aelin-- What is going to happen to her?!? Maeve-- Is it possible to hate someone more? Locran-- And just when I was starting to like you... I am so disappointed. Elide-- GIRLLLL I don't even know what to say. ROWAN-- UGHHH DAWGGGGG I FEEL FOR YOUUUUU!!


You see how all my concerns have to do with the core characters that were in the novel? The characters that we were left on an insane cliff hanger with. The characters that are going through the most exciting and important trials and adventures at the moment... Yes... You can clearly see that. So, you can imagine my disappointment when I immediately began reading Tower of Dawn the moment I got out of my post speed read nap/coma (after cranking out the end of Empire of Storms). Now, I am 200 pages into Tower of Dawn and... This is not exactly the story that I was anticipating.


This is not how I thought things would crumbed... Cookie wise...


How do I say this?


WHY IS THIS BOOK ENTIRELY ABOUT CHAOL? WHY IS THERE NO MENTION OF AELIN AND THE REST OF THE GANG AT ALL WHAT SO EVER? You may be thinking, C8, you aren't even half way through the book. The narration could shift, remember what happened in Heir of Fire? Well, Rad Readers, I have done my research and my concerns are in fact relevant. The only narration in Tower of Dawn centers around Chaol and Nesryn.


Chaol, whom I have stated multiple times is the most boring character in the series by about a country mile. He is loyal to the point where he has no opinions of his own; Rude; weary of anyone who isn't exactly like himself; essentially overflowing with this absurd pride and toxic masculinity. UGH! I DON'T CARE ABOUT HIM! I didn't even notice when he didn't appear in Empire of Storms. His absence wasn't even on my radar! Isn't that perhaps a sign that this dude isn't it? Certainly not worth 650+ pages before we find out what happens to Aelin, Elide, Manon, Dorian, Locran, Rowan-- You get what I mean... There are more important things that are happening to them, and to be completely transparent, I don't care about the healing process of Chaol's legs! I don't even really know what Nesryn's deal is. She isn't the worst... she certainly isn't the best. She's bland beyond belief. She is no Aelin. Aelin is the reason why I picked up this series. The fact that she isn't the focus of this book, a book in a series that centers around her, is capital L--LAME!


Though these are my feelings right now, based on reviews that have had the same initial complaints that I have, SJM has such a way with writing that I am supposed to find redemption in him. I have my doubts. When I finish reading it, I will let you know what my final opinions were, but here I am 1/3 of the way through and I'm just not digging it. Perhaps I will eat my words in 400 pages time, but I was just feeling so passionately about this book right now, that I had to let the Rad Readers know!


Begrudgingly,


- C8 ;)

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All the Bright Places// Book Review

Hello Rad Readers! All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven has quickly and doubtlessly made its way onto my 'favorites' shelf. It is absolutely brilliant, and seriously impactful. Theodore Finch is no

C8's Takes: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Tucholke

Hello Rad Readers! Let me tell you about this ABSOLUTE KILLER novel. I mean, talk about a RAD read! I liked this book so much, I read it one day. Yes, rad readers, you heard that right. 300 pages knoc

A Court of Thorns and Roses// Series Review

Hello Rad Readers! This will be a review on all three books in the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Mass. These books are: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin

bottom of page